In the beginning…

13 Jul

… I have come to realize that I am very “optionally” challenged when it comes to customizing this new blog site. However, I think some good changes have been made and as this progresses I hope I’ll learn the tools of the trade.

The reason for this blog is several-fold: there needs to be some place that our friends and family can easily access our latest news; I have a great desire to share thoughts and ideas the Lord gives me, to encourage and spur others on to godliness and holiness for we do not walk this Christian life alone, nor can we; I need the same kind of encouragement and spurring from those who read and comment on this blog site; I also hope this might be a place where those who are questioning or flatly unbelieving may engage me and others in some enlightening dialog regarding spirituality, faith and the Christian worldview; and lastly, I hope this will serve as some kind of paperless journal, to help reduce the clutter in our home!

So if you are reading this, WELCOME! It is my aim that the communication that transpires through this blog be encouraging, enlightening, uplifting, and God glorifying. Soli Deo Gloria!

©2010 Reformation Lady and Chandra E. Wellman. All rights reserved.

8 Responses to “In the beginning…”

  1. Rachel July 13, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Dear Chandra
    Looking forward to getting a peek intor your life on here!
    Much love, Rachel

  2. Aunt Sue July 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    Chandra,

    This is nice as I like to keep up with the family. Hope all is fine. Tell the boys Hi,from Aunt Sue.

    Thanks,
    Aunt Sue

  3. Momma July 14, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    Chandra,
    How lovely! I am looking forward to reading about your life and activities. I am also excited about what profound and exciting theological discussions will take place. May the Lord use this for His Kingdom’s sake.

    Here is what I thought about last week. I found this little phrase in Romans 5:3 and it has been growing in my heart since. We are to “glory in tribulations (knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope)”.

    Wow! I have long dicussed and taught that we are to be thankful in and for our tribulations BUT this is way deeper than that, we are to actually Glory in our tribulations and the reason is given, when we do so: it produces Hope which does not disappoint us.

    How’s that for a way to face the troubles of our lives? Be thankful in, be thankful for and oh, just go over the edge, and Glory in them. This will definitely be “a God thing” because we in our own strength cannot do this.

    And what a great promise with it, we will then have hope and not discouragement, depression, guilt, shame, and all the other ills that our minds can conceive.
    That paragraph ends with, “This hope does not disappoint, because God’s love has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” (Verse 5)

    Anyway, I have asked God to explain that verse 5 to me since early this year and last week, it all came together as that little phrase “glory in tribulations” jumped off the page to me, I was like, “What are we talking about here? Glory in tribulations is a bit much to ask, if you want my opinion. I have worked through being thankful in and then being thankful for but “glory in”?

    The thankful mode has helped me to accept the troubles and grow from them but it has not produced hope in me. As I understand it now, if I will learn to “glory in tribulations,” hope that will not disappoint me will grow in my heart and life. That is exciting! Thank you God!

    So, putting all that together,
    1. I thank God for keeping you here on the earth for a little while more. We had no idea how close you came to death until Michael told us that after the operation, the doctor came out and said to him, “There is no doubt that God has his hand on your wife. This is the worst I’ve seen: the fallopian tube just exploded and she was bleeding internally. This is how we lose women.”

    2. Then, when the doctor said, “Of course you know that you will have 50% less chance of conceiving and having chldren with the loss of this fallopian tube,” I love what Michael said, “No we won’t! God knows who our children are and when they are to be born and there is no less chance now then there ever was of having the children God has planned for us.” What a great example of what I have been learning, “glory in tribulation” so that we will have hope that does not disappoint.

    3. I am also looking forward to how God is going to continue to bless us through your experience of one less fallopian tube. I think we were already most blessed as I got to be with you and your family for two weeks: be “mother” for awhile to little James, spend some quality time with you talking heart to heart, do art work with you for VBS, enjoy Michael’s good humor and hospitality, walk everyday and get some good exercise pushing James through the park and just generally share in your family life. That was blessing enough but now, waiting on the the Lord to see how He accomplishes His will in spite of or through this operation… that is what I wait on with hope, not discouragement as most of us would do.

    So I say, Go God! We wait on You for what you want to do in this for Your Glory!

    Thank you Chandra for giving me a great place to share all this!

    Much love and Bon Courage in this endeavor! It may not be easy but I pray that it will be eternally worthwhile.
    Momma

  4. Amanda Blankenship July 15, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    Hello Chandra,
    I am so excited to be able to have this place to share our thoughts… to read the words that God gives you and you so graciously share.
    AND – now I need a little FREAK out minute!! you had surgery and almost died?!?!?!?
    I must apologize because you have been on my heart and mind at different times and I should have called. I am sorry. So, what happend?

    Mrs. Bartells, thank you for your words…. Difficult time are all around us, and I really needed to hear that again. Thank you!

    • reformationlady July 17, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      Hey Mandi,

      I got your email as well as this comment. You are allowed a freak-out minute! ;o) We really don’t do very well at keeping up with each other, do we? Lol.

      I had surgery back in the beginning of June after about a month of trying to figure out what was wrong after finding out I was pregnant. I thought I miscarried several times only to continue feeling pregnant. I was supposed to see my OBGYN for my first appointment but it kept getting rescheduled. So finally the weekend before my rescheduled appointment, I checked myself in to the ER where they discovered I had an ectopic (tubal) pregnancy. There was no heartbeat or any sign they could find except a cyst and placental material to indicate pregnancy and I didn’t seem to be getting any worse so they tried treating me with a low dose chemo shot. My bloodwork over the next week showed that there was not a significant drop in hormone levels to indicate the problem was over. So I ended up having surgery. Apparently, I should have been in excruciating pain (thankfully I wasn’t), and the doc said it was one of the worst cases she had seen. The tube was completely ruptured and so they removed it, and my internal bleeding apparently was so bad that she said if we had waited for me to come in to my actual appointment I would have probably bled to death internally. So I should also have had very low energy from losing so much blood. Thankfully, I didn’t have that either. Mom was able to come for exactly the two weeks that I needed help during recovery. They told me I couldn’t lift anything for two weeks–right, when you have a toddler. So Mom came and took care of James, and I laid in bed and did paperwork and Michael worked at home during the days he took off and got the yard cleaned up and the house organize. The Lord is GOOD! :O)

      • Amanda Blankenship July 19, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

        Yes, your right, we are friends that dont talk much, but i feel like not many words are needed… I am reminded of that movie and cannot think of the name of it, but the two girls are Kindred Spirits…. Bosom Buddies.
        I am very sorry to hear of the physical troubles you have faced and I praise God for watching over you and proving again to be the Great Physician that He is. Right now my phone is broken… as soon as i can get it fixed or get a new one i will call so we can have one of those conversations I so dearly miss!!

      • reformationlady July 19, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

        Sure thing! I miss our conversations, too. Look forward to chatting when you have your phone up and running. Hm. Actually, we may be updating our AT&T stuff soon. So if it would be compatible, we might have an extra phone you could use for a while. I’ll talk to Michael to see what we are doing and let you know soon.

        Love ya!

  5. Richard Bartels July 17, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Dear Chandra,

    One is always excited when a Christian steps out in faith and seeks to be leaven in the body of Christ. I am even more excited when it is one of my children who seeks to “know Christ and Him crucified” above all else.
    So fo today. meditate on these words from Colossians and be encourage on your journey today.
    Col. 1:9-14 “And so, from the day we heard of it, we have not cease to pray for you, asking that you may be FILLED WITH THE KNOWLEDGE of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understandinG, to LEAD A LIFE WORTHY of the Lord, fully pleasing to Him, BEARING FRUIT in every good work and INCREASING IN THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOD. May you BE STRENGTHENED with all power, according to His glorious might, for all endurance and patience WITH JOY, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. He has delivered us from the dominion of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have rrdemption, the forgiveness of sins.”

    I pray that as you walk with Christ that you will grow every day in your faith and trust.

    Peace in the Father,

    Earthly Dad, eternal brother in Christ

Leave a Reply

